DELO EHF Champions League 2021/22 group phase quiz

Test your knowledge of the teams and players in the DELO EHF Champions League 2021/22 group phase. How many of the 12 questions can you answer correctly?
How many debutants are part of the group phase?

1 is the correct answer: only Turkish champions Kastamonu have not played the CL group phase before.

Name the five-time CL winners who are part of the group phase:

Heidi Løke, Nora Mørk, Eduarda Amorim, Katrine Lunde is the correct answer: Bulatovic and Görbicz have retired.

Which club has played the most seasons in the CL?

HC Podravka Vegeta is the correct answer: they are going into their 28th season, Krim into their 27th and Buducnost into their 26th.

How many clubs from Norway have won the CL since 1994?

2 is the correct answer: Larvik HK in 2011 and Vipers Kristiansand in 2021.

How many DELO EHF FINAL4 2021 teams start the new season with a different coach than a year ago?

3 is the correct answer: Györi Audi ETO KC (Ambros Martin replaced Gabor Danyi – already in April), Brest Bretagne Handball (Pablo Morel replaced Laurent Bezeau) and CSKA (Florentin Pera replaced Olga Akopian). Ole Gustav Gjekstad is still coach of Vipers Kristiansand.

Who was CL top scorer in 2020/21?

Ana Gros is the correct answer: the Slovenian back scored 135 time for Brest (before joining Rostov-Don), Neagu 115 times for CSM Bucuresti, and Radicevic 94 times for Buducnost (before joining Kastamonu).

Which team ended Györ’s 55-match unbeaten streak in the CL last season?

Brest Bretagne Handball is the correct answer: the French side won their semi-final against Györ after a penalty shoot-out.

How many clubs in the group phase are (former) CL winners?

6 is the correct answer: Podravka (1996), Krim (2001, 2003), Buducnost (2012, 2015), Györ (2013, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019), CSM Bucuresti (2016), and Vipers (2021).

Which two former IHF World Players of the Year joined Krim this summer?

Andrea Lekic and Allison Pineau is the correct answer: Lekic (World Player in 2013) and Pineau (2009) both arrived from Buducnost.

Budapest will once again host the CL final this season – on 5 June 2022. How many CL finals have already taken place in the Papp Laszlo Arena?

7 is the correct answer: the women’s edition of the EHF FINAL4 has been staged since 2014, though the 2020 edition could not be held because of the coronavirus pandemic.

Henny Reistad became MVP of the DELO EHF FINAL4 2021 before leaving Vipers. Which is her new club?

Team Esbjerg is the correct answer: this is Reistad’s first club outside Norway.

Which two arenas will host CL matches this season and EHF EURO matches in November 2022?

Arena Stozice and Moraca Arena is the correct answer: the first is Krim’s home arena, the second Buducnost’s. Slovenia, North Macedonia and Montenegro are joint hosts of the Women’s EHF EURO 2022.

You got {number correct}/{number of questions} correct answers